Mason football: the overall program?

It was suggested that a thread on the school forum for yappi would be a better place for an honest conversation to take place about the Mason football program, direction, issues and concerns and other things. SWMCinci has over 14,000 posts on yappi, so he obviously has some background knowledge. He followed the program through the Sedmak years and Castner's first year or two, but no longer follows it as close. There are a pretty wide variety of opinions of how the overall program is doing. Not even sure if this forum gets much attention, but I thought it might be a good idea to start a thread here in the hope that mostly Mason followers can share their thoughts. Like I stated in the other threads, I have a son in the middle school program and am concerned about some of the things I've heard and seen. I'm also fairly new to Mason, so I don't have the background history of a lot of things. Curious to hear more about people's experiences with a program that seems to struggle to consistently do as well as most other sports at the high school.

I'm hoping you can get this gen'ed up, it has been a while since there were decent and thoughtful conversations on Mason Football that didn't get co-opted or just turn into an anti-this or anti-that rant.

I can tell you that the parents in Mason are incredibly involved (good and bad). I coached for several years in the youth program and started to get involved with the touchdown club as my son hit 7th grade. I encourage you to get involved in the program because you can get a pretty balanced look at how and why things work like they do.