GCLvball's P90x challenge

TheDude

I have read the blogs on here about P90x and read all the success that they have had regarding this program. So, i went out and purchased the P90x CD's and all the necessary workout gear to go along with it.. The plan, start this up and await results.

Just a little background on myself before, so that you know who exactly you are reading about. I am a 20 year old student at the University of Cincinnati and I am a volleyball player for the UC team. We are not a varsity team, but we are the highest team at UC so we take the season pretty seriously. I have been playing competitive volleyball since I was a tike and continue to play. Recently, i lost my starting spot due to me being out of town during a tournament. The guy I lost my spot to is very consistent and has a roll shot to die for. I honestly believe that I have a better blocking game and with work can develop the offensive portion to exceed his. Not bringing him down at all, he is a great player. But i want my spot back!!

So, my thinking is that I will do this program along with eat better and become a force behind the net. I have never been really 'in shape' per say, but I would not call myself overweight or anything, but I do not have the strength that I want at this point in time. Senior year, I had many reoccurring injuries including ankle sprains , a seriously inflammed rotator cuff, and the development of arthritis in my knees. I take a supplement called glucosamine chondroitin which is very helpful for my joints and I cannot start a volleyball match without taking ibuprofen before hand. I am hoping that the P90x program will help strengthen these muscles up a bit and make myself a bit more injury prone. Also, I will be lifting with one of my coaches two days a week along with the P90x. I have not figured out how exactly I will spread out the work load with the both, but I will figure it out!! I guess I will just have to to workouts twice on some days.