Ask the Ref?

Both feet and the ball must have frontcourt status for this to have been a violation. Another way to say it is all three have to cross the division line in order to potentially have a backcourt violation.
The "three points" reference does not apply here. It only pertains to a dribbler.
 
There was a play in the OSU/Maine WBB game that drew some comments about the lack of Backcourt violation. Maine is inbounding after a made OSU basket. OSU is pressing. Inbounding player throws ball towards halfcourt. Player from frontcourt is coming back to get the ball. She catches the ball with both her feet just inside the frontcourt but the ball still in the backcourt and her momentum carries her to the backcourt. Should this have been called a violation?
Were the player's feet touching the floor in the front court when she caught (possessed) the ball?
 
This happened in a March madness game and caused a lot of confusion by the announcers. I think their rules official came back and said the call on the court was correct, but did not give much explanation.

Team A is inbounding the ball under their own basket. Throws the inbound out toward half court. Pass is too high and Player on team A tips the ball but can’t catch it. The ball goes into the backcourt. Team A goes and gets the ball in the backcourt. Should this be a backcourt violation? Or not because possession was never established in the front court?
I was busting a gut listening to those fools lose their minds.
 
Both feet making at least partial contact with floor in front court at the moment she possessed the ball.
If it happened as you describe, and it was a Maine player who possessed the ball, then a back court violation has occurred.

However, if it was ruled that the Maine player was airborne when they possessed the ball and returned to the floor with one or both feet in the back court, this is a legal play even if the first foot to touch the floor is in the front court.

This rule/ruling is consistent along NFHS, NCAA Men's, and NCAA Women's rules.
 
Long story short, a few days ago I attended a training session for operating the new scoreboard in our gym. One of the reps that was there was an official from the Canton area and he basically said the implementation of a shot clock was a foregone conclusion. If I understood him correctly, it would likely be approved at the conclusion of the upcoming 24-25 season, give schools the 25-26 season to purchase and install the equipment, and then implement the rule for 26-27 season. Is this accurate and do I have the timeline correct?
 
Long story short, a few days ago I attended a training session for operating the new scoreboard in our gym. One of the reps that was there was an official from the Canton area and he basically said the implementation of a shot clock was a foregone conclusion. If I understood him correctly, it would likely be approved at the conclusion of the upcoming 24-25 season, give schools the 25-26 season to purchase and install the equipment, and then implement the rule for 26-27 season. Is this accurate and do I have the timeline correct?
Ohio has a history of creating solutions in search of a problem, so I tend to agree with the rep. (Then again, we could have a situation like in football when the administration tells the coaches one thing and almost immediately afterwards and the opposite occurred)

As far as the timeline..... who knows 🤷‍♂️
 
Last edited:
Any new or adjusted rules for 2024-25 that we'll notice?

Out of those, the "faking being fouled" (or flopping) would be the only one noticable to the average fan.

That one is going to take a while for everyone, inlcuding officials, to figure out and probably will cause more issues than it solves. (it already has, since the NFHS has already had to issue clarifications on the case book plays that are in conflict with the new rule)
 

Out of those, the "faking being fouled" (or flopping) would be the only one noticable to the average fan.

That one is going to take a while for everyone, inlcuding officials, to figure out and probably will cause more issues than it solves. (it already has, since the NFHS has already had to issue clarifications on the case book plays that are in conflict with the new rule)
Boy you ain't a kiddin. To me it seemed like college tried this a year or two ago and it seemed to go away. So do you feel the "charge" call will become nearly extinct like it is in the NBA and college? I mean it's really hard to get a charge call today unless the offensive play lowers the shoulder. Control doesn't seem to matter anymore.
 
Boy you ain't a kiddin. To me it seemed like college tried this a year or two ago and it seemed to go away. So do you feel the "charge" call will become nearly extinct like it is in the NBA and college? I mean it's really hard to get a charge call today unless the offensive play lowers the shoulder. Control doesn't seem to matter anymore.
I don't pay attention to the NBA because they have bastardized the game's rules to fit the bottom line......... and the NCAA isn't far behind.

As far as the charge going away in high school..... no, I don't believe so. That said, we have a lot of work to do to get better at determining when legal guarding postion is obtained and what the defender is permitted to do once he/she obtains it.
 
I don't pay attention to the NBA because they have bastardized the game's rules to fit the bottom line......... and the NCAA isn't far behind.

As far as the charge going away in high school..... no, I don't believe so. That said, we have a lot of work to do to get better at determining when legal guarding postion is obtained and what the defender is permitted to do once he/she obtains it.
I feel like there is still some purity in the high school game, but it's eroding year by year. It's almost impossible to get a charge call in the NBA on a typical player control foul. The offensive player has to lower their shoulder to get a charge call. To me that's a critical part of defense is to be able to get in front of a player attacking the basket. Once that's gone it's hard to play defense, but that's kind of what the NBA wants. I despise the "Euro" step. It's just a controlled traveling. A player can Euro step out of control and if they get bumped, it's a defensive foul?
 
I was at a game and this happened. Late third quarter with a running clock and a girl got fouled a few seconds before time expired. As they were about to line up for free throws the horn went off and they cleared the lane and let her shoot the two FTs. My question is that since the horn went off before the FTs were released shouldn’t the period have ended with no FTs? I mean the horn ends the period unless there is a try or tap in flight, correct?
 
I was at a game and this happened. Late third quarter with a running clock and a girl got fouled a few seconds before time expired. As they were about to line up for free throws the horn went off and they cleared the lane and let her shoot the two FTs. My question is that since the horn went off before the FTs were released shouldn’t the period have ended with no FTs? I mean the horn ends the period unless there is a try or tap in flight, correct?
The penalty for the foul does not disappear because time expires unless this occurs at the end of the fourth period.


The officials were correct.
 
The penalty for the foul does not disappear because time expires unless this occurs at the end of the fourth period.


The officials were correct.
I recently saw a girl get awarded free throws at ether end of the fourth quarter in the same situation. Probably not correct, but also not a big deal? The free throw shooter was on the losing team.
 
Quick Scenario...

Team A has a fastbreak opportunity with no defenders (Team B) there to contest a potential shot. As Player A1 is driving, B1 from the opposing team runs from behind and grabs A1 with both hands (stopping A1's progress in the process). For contextualization purposes, A1 was probably around 10 feet from the basket when the foul occurred, with another teammate (A2) standing running parallel to him, with no defenders in between either and the basket. B1 grabbed A1 by the waist with both hands and held him. I don't remember exactly what the officials called it but Team A received an inbound opportunity following the foul.
 
Quick Scenario...

Team A has a fastbreak opportunity with no defenders (Team B) there to contest a potential shot. As Player A1 is driving, B1 from the opposing team runs from behind and grabs A1 with both hands (stopping A1's progress in the process). For contextualization purposes, A1 was probably around 10 feet from the basket when the foul occurred, with another teammate (A2) standing running parallel to him, with no defenders in between either and the basket. B1 grabbed A1 by the waist with both hands and held him. I don't remember exactly what the officials called it but Team A received an inbound opportunity following the foul.

Prior to the inbound opportunity were two shots awarded to team a?
 
Sounds like they called a common foul and judged it to be not intentional nor during a shot attempt.
I really don't know how they didn't judge grabbing and holding a player with the ball (who was moving) as unintentional. Felt like a miss during the game, but I'm sure it can be difficult to decide in the moment.
 
I really don't know how they didn't judge grabbing and holding a player with the ball (who was moving) as unintentional. Felt like a miss during the game, but I'm sure it can be difficult to decide in the moment.
Definitely a Had to be there moment. There are certain criteria for an intentional foul in the rules book.
 
Quick Scenario...

Team A has a fastbreak opportunity with no defenders (Team B) there to contest a potential shot. As Player A1 is driving, B1 from the opposing team runs from behind and grabs A1 with both hands (stopping A1's progress in the process). For contextualization purposes, A1 was probably around 10 feet from the basket when the foul occurred, with another teammate (A2) standing running parallel to him, with no defenders in between either and the basket. B1 grabbed A1 by the waist with both hands and held him. I don't remember exactly what the officials called it but Team A received an inbound opportunity following the foul.
Not trying to be mean but maybe You missed something here? You Second sentence is the exact opposite of first sentence. How does one go from "no defenders to contest a potential Shot" to being grabbed by the Waist with Both Hands?
 
This happened in our girls game yesterday, but could be applicable here too.

Running clock situation. Held ball with only 2 seconds left in the 3rd quarter. Team A has the possession arrow and has the lead, but never gets the benefit of a throw-in. Team B then has the throw-in to start the 4th quarter.

Was this handled correctly?
 
This happened in our girls game yesterday, but could be applicable here too.

Running clock situation. Held ball with only 2 seconds left in the 3rd quarter. Team A has the possession arrow and has the lead, but never gets the benefit of a throw-in. Team B then has the throw-in to start the 4th quarter.

Was this handled correctly?
No

Hopefully, team B was behind.
 
No

Hopefully, team B was behind.
Team B was behind.

So what should have happened? How does the fact that Team A had the alternating possession and the fact that there were only two seconds left in the period factor into the situation? Team A never had the ball administered to it for a throw-in before the time in the period ran out.
 
Last edited:
Top